My Top Three ‘Halloween’ Novels

Posted: October 31, 2013 in Uncategorized

Bram Stoker’s Dracula.
I have always loved this novel for its dark gothicism, building suspense and the wonderful characterisation of the Count. It also refers to the work of Cesare Lombroso!
M.R. James Collected Ghost Stories.
These for me are the most terrifying of ghostly tales – mostly because the writing is subtle for the most part and the fear and creepy atmosphere is built on suggestion – but then what you imagine is always more frightening than what you can see, isn’t it?
Stephen King’s Salems Lot.
I read this many years ago but it has stayed with me since then to the extent that I don’t like sleeping in a room with an open window and I rarely invite a stranger into my house at night!

Leave a Reply

