Working with Sheila Hancock!

Posted: July 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

Last week I was lucky enough to be involved in a performance of crime related readings at the British Criminology Society conference held at the University of Portsmouth, with our lovely Chancellor Sheila Hancock and her friends from TVs ‘New Tricks’, Amanda Redman and Anthony Calf. I read a short extract from my novel The Devil’s City’ or ‘City of Devils’ as it is now called, as part of a show which included everything from Portsmouth’s own Dickens and Conan Doyle to Shakespeare and more contemporary writers Nigel Williams and Tom Sharpe. I was OK I think…but the actors were wonderful. The highlights for me were Amanda and Anthony’s Macbeth which made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up, it was so good and Sheila reading from Dickens’ Tale of Two Cities and a lovely comic poem called ‘The Skip’. It was a real privilege to work with them and it was an afternoon I shall never forget!

I’m the one on the far left behind the water bottle!

Leave a Reply

